American Legion Auxiliary

Department of Indiana 



Purpose Statement

To provide an outstanding, unique, and coveted educational opportunity for the young women of our nation that instills the basic ideals and principles of American government through the American Legion Auxiliary Girls State and American Legion Auxiliary Girls Nation citizenship training programs.

Developing Leadership & Building Confidence

The American Legions  Auxiliary believes in teaching our young women pride in being an American citizen,  educating young ladies to learn basic government ideals and principles,  embracing a greater understanding of American traditions and to strive to build a desire to maintain our democratic government processes within our republic.

ALA Online Workshop

Trine University

ALA ​Hoosier Girls State


American Legion Auxiliary
Hoosier Girls State
2017-2018 Board of Directors

Denise Delaney-Wrolen, Director
PO Box 202, Hobart, IN  46342
(219) 771-6887



Betty Slagle                                                     Jennie Maune                                                      Kristi Thornbury
Department President                                 President-Elect                                                   Department Secretary
257 E. Wabash Ave.                                        28999 Leisure Ln.                                              5440 Herbert Lord Road
Nappanee, IN. 46550                                     Brookville, IN. 47012                                         Indianapolis, IN  46216
(574) 773-4697                                                 (812) 528-4553                                                      (317) 630-1275                                                

Maureen Weber                                               Susie Heath                                                  Carol LaGard
1st District -
                                                       2nd District -                                                3rd District -
Lake County                                                      Benton, Carroll, Cass, Fulton,                  Elkhart, LaPorte, Marshall, St. Joseph county

1403 Sheffield Avenue                                    Jasper, Kosciusko, Newton,                     1078 S. 300 E. 

Dryer, IN. 46311                                               Porter, Pulaski, Starke,                              Laporte, IN. 46350

(219)671-8238                                                    Tippecanoe, White County                        (219) 362-4394                                                                              PO Box 251                                            

                                                                              North Webster, IN. 46555

                                                                              (574) 527-4308                                                                    

Sue Wehr                                                           Sue Comerford                                              Karen Lowe
4th District -                                                     5th District -                                                   6th District -

Adams, Allen, DeKalb, LaGrange               Blackford, Clinton, Grant,                          Boone, Fountain, Hendricks,

Noble, Steuben, Wells, Whitley                  Howard, Huntington, Jay,                           Hamilton, Montgomery, Parke,

5508 W. Greythorn Drive                              Madison, Miami, Tipton,                             Putnam, Vermillion, Virgo, Warren                    Muncie, IN. 47304                                           Wabash county                                              7108 Westhaven Circle, Apt 208

(520)236-7393                                                   702 Willowridge Drive                                  Zionsville, IN. 46077                                    Kokomo, IN  46901                                        (317) 769-1055
                                                                             (765) 419-1900                                      

Brittany Schofield                                          Brenda Byrley                                               Jennie Maune
7th District  -                                                    8th District -                                                  9th District - 

Clay, Davies, Gibson, Greene,                     Clark, Crawford, Dubois,                            Bartholomew, Brown, Dearborn, 

Johnson, Knox, Marion, Monroe                Floyd, Harrison, Perry, Pike,                      Franklin, Jackson, Jefferson, Jennings,

Morgan, Owen, Sullivan                               Posey, Spencer, Vanderburg,                    Lawrence, Ohio, Orange, Ripley, Scott,

624 W. Cleveland Street                                Warrick                                                            Switzerland, Washington

Shelburn, IN 47879                                         1644 Maurer Rd.                                            28999 Leisure Lane             
 (812)243-0458                                                  Boonville, IN  47601                                      Brookville, IN  47012                                    (812) 760-8281                                                (812) 528-4553

 Jane Thurston                                                    Marti Drake
10th District -                                                      11th District -  

Decator, Delaware, Fayette,                           Marion County

Hancock, Henry, Randolph,                             10867 Riverwood Blvd. 
                      315-489-6591            Unit 438

Rush, Shelby, Union, Wayne County             Indianapolis, IN. 46234                         

6440 N. 700 E.                                                       (317) 430-1484
Morristown, IN  46161                             
(765) 763-6452